YZF600R carbs on FZR not running

In the states, this was the upgrade to the FZR600. In other places, this is called an FZR. Either way, many of the components of the US YZF600r fit onto the US FZR600.

Moderator: FZR Forum Moderators

User avatar
match417
Level 8.0
Level 8.0
Posts: 813
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:02 pm
Location: Kaimuki, HI (ALOHA)!!!

YZF600R carbs on FZR not running

Postby match417 » Thu Mar 18, 2010 5:18 am

did anyone have to change their pilot jets out to a smaller diameter so the bike would actually start up? I don't want to adjust the air/fuel mix screw because that will throw off the high rpms. My bike isn't running, and hasn't ran with these carbs on it, I sold my stock ones.
check out my car and bike projects on http://youtube.com/match417
Image

User avatar
cad600
1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts
Posts: 1413
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 3:41 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: YZF600R carbs on FZR not running

Postby cad600 » Thu Mar 18, 2010 7:04 am

To my knowledge, you are the only one to try running YZF carbs on a FZR engine.

But if you look at Factory Pro's web site, you'll notice that the jet numbers for the non-ram air carbs are smaller than the ram air carbs. So it might be worth a try.
Yes, that is a Single Sided Swingarm FZR600 that I built.

Something is lurking, waiting, wanting to be built......It calls to me from the darkness....

I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel....Then I realize that it is the train coming to run my ass over....

User avatar
sweekster
2000+ Posts
2000+ Posts
Posts: 2773
Joined: Tue May 13, 2008 10:52 am
Location: Perris, CA

Re: YZF600R carbs on FZR not running

Postby sweekster » Thu Mar 18, 2010 11:38 am

Actually FasterthaUr's 4/6 hybrid runs YZF carbs as well. I do know that 97+ Thundercat carbs are set up for ram air and the jetting is different so if your carbs came from a thunder cat then yeah..change out the jets.
Duane...
Bike:
1994 Yamaha FZR 1000 EXUP
Factory Pro Stage 1 Jetting | K&N Filter | Corbin Seat | ProTek Keyless Gas Cap | GSXR Mirrors
My Thread
Cage:
2005 Saab 9-7x 5.3i Arc AWD

Image


THE WIKI IS YOUR FRIEND
THE SEARCH IS YOUR SIGNIFICANT OTHER
USE THEM!!

User avatar
match417
Level 8.0
Level 8.0
Posts: 813
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:02 pm
Location: Kaimuki, HI (ALOHA)!!!

Re: YZF600R carbs on FZR not running

Postby match417 » Thu Mar 18, 2010 12:18 pm

I remember talking to fasterthanUR about his carbs before I put mine on. His were on his bike already when he got it. And he said that it looked like nothing was changed, his A/F mix screw caps weren't touched, and he probably wouldn't know if the idle jets were changed w/o pulling his off and looking inside. I guess it wouldn't hurt to pull off the carbs and put smaller idle jets in, I'm not changing out the mains since they work off of vacuum created by the engine. I have a lot of extra jets lying around, and I know I have stock ones.
check out my car and bike projects on http://youtube.com/match417
Image

User avatar
match417
Level 8.0
Level 8.0
Posts: 813
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:02 pm
Location: Kaimuki, HI (ALOHA)!!!

Re: YZF600R carbs on FZR not running

Postby match417 » Mon Mar 22, 2010 5:24 am

YZF600 actually has smaller pilot jets than the FZR600, I just opened up both carbs and compared the jets, they are smaller. And the jets don't swap in anyway, different thread diameter. So I'll either have to carefully drill out these jets (not gonna try it) or find other jets from Keihin carburetor set that are the same size and also thread in. The main jets in the YZF are considerably larger than the FZR though.
check out my car and bike projects on http://youtube.com/match417
Image


Return to “YZF600r”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest