Need YZF oversize pistons

In the states, this was the upgrade to the FZR600. In other places, this is called an FZR. Either way, many of the components of the US YZF600r fit onto the US FZR600.

Moderator: FZR Forum Moderators

partydog
Site Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:30 am

Need YZF oversize pistons

Postby partydog » Fri Oct 21, 2011 3:09 am

Where can i get oversize pistons for my YZF 600..I phoned Wiseco and they claimed they did not have any. Mega cycle list a kit that is compatible with fzr 400,600 and YZF that is upposedly made by Wiseco. JE had nothing listed, I was going for up to 1.5 mm over

User avatar
cad600
1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts
Posts: 1413
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 3:41 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Need YZF oversize pistons

Postby cad600 » Sat Oct 22, 2011 8:27 am

No one makes a set for the YZF600. It will be a custom order.
Yes, that is a Single Sided Swingarm FZR600 that I built.

Something is lurking, waiting, wanting to be built......It calls to me from the darkness....

I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel....Then I realize that it is the train coming to run my ass over....

partydog
Site Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:30 am

Re: Need YZF oversize pistons

Postby partydog » Sun Oct 23, 2011 5:29 pm

Custom from Wiseco? If that is the case you think they might have mentioned that they could do that when I called....

User avatar
reelrazor
Wrench
Wrench
Posts: 1658
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 8:19 am

Re: Need YZF oversize pistons

Postby reelrazor » Sun Oct 23, 2011 8:00 pm

Ehh, like Cad said....

no oversize..

The cylinders are plated..... You CANNOT just overbore them as there is NO steel liner.

If you wanna go oversize, you need to have the aluminum bored over and then hard plated again.

There are companies that do this, and do it well.

I have used U.S. Chrome many times in the past. Nice work, quick turnaround....fairly pricey.

http://www.uschrome.com/cylinder_repair.html#


Wiseco? Not likely to do you a one-off custom set. JE used to have a standard FZR blank that you could spec deeper valve pockets etc. Not sure if they had/have O.S. YZF pistons.
http://www.michiganmobileservice.com/


Image

“A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools.”-Douglas Adams

http://www.youtube.com/user/reelrazor

DonTZ125
Moderator
Posts: 2214
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Scarberia, ON
Contact:

Re: Need YZF oversize pistons

Postby DonTZ125 » Mon Oct 24, 2011 1:56 am

Next question - why are you punching it out? Are you going for more displacement = more power? Or are you repairing a brutal seizure?

If the latter, then RR's link to a replating house would be your best bet.

partydog
Site Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:30 am

Re: Need YZF oversize pistons

Postby partydog » Tue Oct 25, 2011 10:31 am

I'm going over for more power> I have the motor apart to do the transmission so I might as well build a motor that I'm hoping to haul ass with..I can have the motor bored and replated..I just need pistons.
I guess I'll have to call back to one of the companies to see how to get custom pistons and if I can afford it.

User avatar
reelrazor
Wrench
Wrench
Posts: 1658
Joined: Sun Oct 05, 2008 8:19 am

Re: Need YZF oversize pistons

Postby reelrazor » Tue Oct 25, 2011 4:07 pm

It's $757 for bore and replate of all four.

Thta's a lot for another 30cc or so......and without any gain in stroke..MORE oversquare.

ALL top end....No bottom end.

I'd think along the FZR crank(longer stroke), YZF top end path.....yields you 660cc

been done before..pretty well documented. makes a nice motor with a pretty balanced powerband.

Prolly a bunch cheaper as a custom piston (and gasket) set will set you back at least another $700 on top of the bore/plate.
http://www.michiganmobileservice.com/


Image

“A common mistake that people make when trying to design something completely foolproof is to underestimate the ingenuity of complete fools.”-Douglas Adams

http://www.youtube.com/user/reelrazor

partydog
Site Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:30 am

Re: Need YZF oversize pistons

Postby partydog » Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:56 pm

ahhhhh..keep it coming..useful info...

Here's what I have:
One YZF motor in pieces
One FZR crank
One FZR CDI
Four sets of FZ6 rods on order
I desire:
adjustable cams sprockets in the near future
possibly some megacycle cams if I can figure out if the damn things work in my motor
to punch the f*ck out of my motor by 1.5mm and put some f*ck big pistons in and hopefully not blow the motor to the moon.

oh ya..a race generator set up to go with the FZR crank
guess what else is in my pipe dream..a carbon fiber tank...f*ck it...tail and race rear subsection..carbon fiber as well...here's a f*ck up thing..I'm going to try to get the exhaust routed under the tail.



What I am missing in my quest...a set of pistons..hence my initial query..the proper seal size for the crank end....the exact know how to switch the CDI(dunno if I'll even bother)...any technical information to aid in the build of the engine.links..comments..thanks for telling me I'm a half wit for spending money on tiny cc"s...I'm building a race motor.
Money is an object...don't be concerned that I'm pimping myself out to pay for shit.

While we're at it...does anyone have any suspension ideas..i'll be stupidly blowing money on that too.

partydog
Site Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:30 am

Re: Need YZF oversize pistons

Postby partydog » Wed Oct 26, 2011 2:58 pm

i forgot to add..links to well documented motor builds greatly appreciated.

User avatar
cad600
1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts
Posts: 1413
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 3:41 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Need YZF oversize pistons

Postby cad600 » Thu Oct 27, 2011 7:15 am

Take a look around the Hybrid section and do a search on the 660. You'll find some good info on the build. Hope you ordered the correct FZ6 rods. FZ6 that had the correct rod length and dia was not sold in the US and it was an early model (something around 98-99 I think).

As far as the CDI goes. Typically you need to run the FZR600 electricals because the charging rotor from the YZF will not fit the FZR crank. If you plan on using a total loss system you will run into the same thing because of the location of the timing mark on the rotor, but you may be able to get one then fabricate a new rotor with the correct timing location. Alternately, most people run the Ignitech computer because of its adjustability and most take it a scripture that it is needed to run the engine.

For the crank oil seal, it is a common size. I can't remember it right now, but all it is is the od for the seal is the id for the cases and the id for the seal is the od for the crank. Just take some measurements and you'll have the size you need.

Good luck. I've been planning on building a YZF based 660 for a while now. Just never got around to putting the thing together.
Yes, that is a Single Sided Swingarm FZR600 that I built.

Something is lurking, waiting, wanting to be built......It calls to me from the darkness....

I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel....Then I realize that it is the train coming to run my ass over....

DonTZ125
Moderator
Posts: 2214
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Scarberia, ON
Contact:

Re: Need YZF oversize pistons

Postby DonTZ125 » Thu Oct 27, 2011 9:13 am

cad600 wrote:the location of the timing mark on the rotor, but you may be able to get one then fabricate a new rotor with the correct timing location.


The timing location just means you have to be careful with which generator cover you pick. The issue is the timing PATTERN machined on the OD of the rotor. The FZR600 and YZF600 don't use just a single 'bump' like a single-cyl dirt bike, but rather a pattern of long and short bumps, and the patterns are utterly different between the two. Since it is this pattern of long and short pulses that tells the TCI (not CDI - another rant of mine) where the crank is and how fast it is spinning, an incorrect pattern is gibberish and the box doesn't recognise that the crank is even turning.

User avatar
cad600
1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts
Posts: 1413
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 3:41 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Need YZF oversize pistons

Postby cad600 » Thu Oct 27, 2011 11:55 am

DonTZ125 wrote:
cad600 wrote:the location of the timing mark on the rotor, but you may be able to get one then fabricate a new rotor with the correct timing location.


The timing location just means you have to be careful with which generator cover you pick. The issue is the timing PATTERN machined on the OD of the rotor. The FZR600 and YZF600 don't use just a single 'bump' like a single-cyl dirt bike, but rather a pattern of long and short bumps, and the patterns are utterly different between the two. Since it is this pattern of long and short pulses that tells the TCI (not CDI - another rant of mine) where the crank is and how fast it is spinning, an incorrect pattern is gibberish and the box doesn't recognise that the crank is even turning.


Good catch on the CDI vs TCI. I've been trying to go back and correct myself when I type this but missed it this time.

As Don stated, the marks for timing are not just a simple tick but instead a series of them at a set interval and length. One more thing to add to this though. The YZF600 used 2 different timing patterns for the TCI. This all revolves around having either the 95/96 or the 97+ which had the TPS and ram air. While the rotor is interchangeable on a YZF600 crank, the rotor needs to be paired with the correct TCI or it will not read the timing correctly. And again, neither model YZF600 rotor will fit the FZR crank.
Yes, that is a Single Sided Swingarm FZR600 that I built.

Something is lurking, waiting, wanting to be built......It calls to me from the darkness....

I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel....Then I realize that it is the train coming to run my ass over....

partydog
Site Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:30 am

Re: Need YZF oversize pistons

Postby partydog » Thu Oct 27, 2011 4:54 pm

So since the YZF rotor does not fit the FZR crank, what is the solution to this. I don't have an FZR rotor..and which model of ignitech ignition would be suitable for the motor?

User avatar
cad600
1000+ Posts
1000+ Posts
Posts: 1413
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 3:41 pm
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: Need YZF oversize pistons

Postby cad600 » Thu Oct 27, 2011 6:17 pm

partydog wrote:So since the YZF rotor does not fit the FZR crank, what is the solution to this. I don't have an FZR rotor..and which model of ignitech ignition would be suitable for the motor?


Go buy a rotor from eBay. That will solve it and they should be fairly cheap.

As for the Ignitech, it depends on what set up you want to run. The standard one will work just fine. But if you want it to control an EXUP valve, you need the 4ch model. I can't remember if you need the 4ch to work with a TPS sensor or not though. I bought just the 2ch model.
Yes, that is a Single Sided Swingarm FZR600 that I built.

Something is lurking, waiting, wanting to be built......It calls to me from the darkness....

I can finally see the light at the end of the tunnel....Then I realize that it is the train coming to run my ass over....

partydog
Site Newbie
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 06, 2010 11:30 am

Re: Need YZF oversize pistons

Postby partydog » Fri Oct 28, 2011 4:02 pm

I don't have a TPS. So no worries there and I don"t have an exup system. Double no worries...I've sent an email to ignitech but no answer yet and I don't see YZFr listed on their site.


Return to “YZF600r”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest